• Everest Base Camp HeliCopter Tour All Round Year Join a Group
acetreks logo
+977 9851139920(Narayan)

Nepal Visa and Entry Procedure

Nepal Visa Information

Tourists can obtain a visa either from the Nepal Embassy or you can also take visa upon arrival from Tribhuvan International Airport. Nepali visa is allowed for maximum 150 days in a visa year (January to December. You can apply online for the visa in Nepal ( online visa ).

The requirement for Nepal Visa? What do I need for Nepal Visa?
  • Passport with at least six months validity
  • Two passport size photograph
  • Tourist Visa Fees
  • Multiple entry visas 15 days $ 25
  • Multiple entry visas 30 days $ 40
  • Multiple entry visas for 90 days $ 100 or equivalent convertible currency
  • Free visa for 30 days for tourists of SAARC countries
  • Indians do not need the visa to enter Nepal. But they need to carry a passport or any identity card issued by Indian Government.

Nepal Entry Procedure
Nepal is a landlocked country. It shares its border with only Nepal and China. You can enter Nepal either through air route or land transportation. Navy route is not available.

By Air
Nepal has only one Tribhuvan International Airport in Kathmandu. There are no direct flights for Kathmandu from European countries. Arabian countries like Doha, Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Bahrain are used as transit countries. They can also take the flight to India and then enter Nepal from India.
If you are entering Nepal from China, take Kathmandu flight from Lhasa or Kunming or Guang Zhou. Air China and China Southwest Airlines are two Airplanes company in China.
If you are coming to Nepal from America, transit point will either be at Hong Kong, Singapore, Bangkok, Taipei, Seoul, Tokyo or Delhi.

By Land
From land transportation, entry point will be at Tibet (China) and India. These entrance points remain open 24hrs a day. Foreigners are not allowed to enter Nepal from spots other than these entry points.

From China
Mauri (at Humla which links Far Western Nepal with Tibet)
Kodari (at Sindhupalchowk which links Nepal with China)

From India
Gadda Chauki/ Mahendranagar (at Kanchanpur which links Far Western Nepal with India)
Mohana (which links Dhangadhi, Kailali and Far Western Nepal with India)
Jamunaha (which links Nepalgunj, Banke and Far Western Nepal with India)
Belahia (which links Bhairahawa, Rupandehi and Western Nepal with India)
Birgunj (which links Parsa and Central Nepal with India)
Kakarvitta (which links Jhapa with Darjeeling/Sikkim of India).
Tourists choose Benares- Belahiya- Lumbini- Pokhara- Kathmandu route from India to Nepal. For Bhutan and Sikkim, you can choose the entry point in Kakarvitta.

By land with private vehicle
You need to require International Driving License and you can drive on roads of Nepal by paying small sum of daily fee. The time period is limited to six months.

Our Blogs

Annapurna Trek Blog 01 January, 2019

Annapurna trek blog is the story of the Annapurna region trek and expedition. It is the popular trekking region in Nepal and busiest trekking destination of the world after Everest...